This concert has been rescheduled:
October 24 & 25, 2020

Contemporary women composers hold the spotlight in what will now be the first concert of our 2020-21 season. Vox Femina (the female voice) features some of the most creative and active composers working today.

“Night Flight” for choir and cello was written by Cecilia McDowall to mark the centenary of Harriet Quimby’s pioneering flight across the English Channel. Ysaÿe
Barnwell (of Sweet Honey in the Rock) sets her popular “Wanting Memories” for unaccompanied choir. “Panda Chant” is a section from The Games: A Science Fiction Opera by Meredith Monk, who is considered a pioneer in extended vocal technique and interdisciplinary performance. We are also excited to premiere a new work by Jocelyn Hagen, commissioned by Kantorei for these concerts.

For all concerts in this cycle: $25 adults/$20 seniors.

Children and students (with valid student ID) are always free, but make sure to reserve a free ticket online in advance.

Tickets available online up to 24 hours before each concert or at the door ($3.00 more).

Music By

Ysaÿe Barnwell
Jocelyn Hagen (world premiere)
Jennifer Higdon
Cecilia McDowall
Meredith Monk
Sarah Quartel