Who We Are

Kantorei is an inclusive community of volunteer singers. Formed in 1997 under the leadership of six friends, Kantorei has grown in volume while staying true to its north star – to elevate the human experience through choral excellence.

Managing Artistic Director, Joel Rinsema

Joel M. Rinsema joined Kantorei (Denver, Colorado USA) in 2014, becoming the second conductor in its 25-year history. During his tenure, Kantorei has experienced tremendous audience growth, nearly tripled its budget, and launched an ambitious recording strategy. A frequent collaborator and champion of new works for chorus, Joel has commissioned and premiered works by many of today’s leading composers, including Kim André Arnesen, Mason Bates, René Clausen, Jean Belmont Ford, Ola Gjeilo, Jocelyn Hagen, Mark Hayes, Cecilia McDowall, Sarah Quartel, Jake Runestad, Christopher Tin, and Eric Whitacre.

In the summer of 2022, Joel conducted the Central American premiere of Jake Runestad’s El Último Hilo (The Last Thread) in Guatemala City and Antigua, Guatemala with Kantorei and the Guatemalan choir Vocalis. He returned in May of 2023 to conduct Eric Whitacre’s The Sacred Veil and serves as Artistic Advisor and Principal Guest Conductor of Vocalis.

Artist-In-Residence, M. Roger Holland, II

Kantorei is honored to welcome M. Roger Holland as our artist-in-residence. Roger is a teaching assistant professor in Music and Religion and Director of The Spirituals Project at the Lamont School of Music, University of Denver. He received a Master’s Degree in Piano Performance from the Manhattan School of Music, also in New York, and completed his undergraduate work at Westminster Choir College in Princeton, New Jersey where he majored in Music Education with a concentration in piano and voice.

Roger toured nationally and internationally with The Boys Choir of Harlem, working with them as a conductor, pianist, instructor and arranger for several of their recordings. Roger served as Minister of Music for Our Lady of Charity Roman Catholic Church in Brooklyn, NY for 12 years and is Liturgical Music Consultant for the New York Archdiocese Office of Black Ministry, acting as Music Director for their special Masses at St. Patrick’s Cathedral.


Sara Michael*

Victoria Bailey

Beryl Fanslow Wilson

Riley Jayne Gallivan

Christina Graham

Heather Gunnerson

Stacie Hanson

Becca Hyvonen

Shannon Lemmon-Elrod

Lexie Orvin

Martina Richardson

Alicia Rigsby

Pearl Rutherford

Christianna Sullins

Leah Tracy


Sarah Branton*

Safia Ahmed

Emily Alexander

Lindsey Aquilina

Lyn Berry-Helmlinger

Desiree Deliz-Morales

Erin Greenfield

Chelsea Kendall

Melissa Menter

Erin Meyerhoff

Jennifer Moore

Allison Pasternak

Kaleigh Sutula

Andrea Ware-Medina

Jane Wright


Kai Berry-Helmlinger*

Benjamin Corwyn

Joshua Corwyn

Matthew Eschliman

Keith Ferguson

Mason France

Keith Harrison

Bryce Kennedy

Samuel Low

Alex Menter

Chad Nelsen

Seth O’Kegley-Gibson

Zachariah Smith

Jonathan Von Stroh

John Wright


Michael Bizzaro*

John Bartley

Jordan Black

Michael Boender

Adam Cave

Garth Criswell

Scott Horowitz

Brad Jackson

Brad Larson

Bryan Lastrella

John Ludwig

John Schaak

Kirk Schjodt

Griffin Sutherland

Matt Weissenbuehler

Kantorei Singers

Our choral artists have studied at schools with strong music programs across the United States such as Baylor University, Brigham Young University, Eastman School of Music, Indiana University, St. Olaf College, Wartburg College, and Westminster Choir College. Kantorei’s singers reside throughout the greater Denver area. Some serve as choral music educators, church choir conductors, and vocal instructors. Others are doctors, social workers, optometrists, counselors, clinical psychologists, accountants, realtors. All are brought together in weekly rehearsals for shared artistic excellence and community as a choral ensemble.

*Section Leaders

Artistic & Administrative Staff

Assistant Conductor, Sarah Branton
Collaborative Pianist, Alicia Rigsby
Business Manager, Sara Michael
Social Media Marketing & Communications Manager, Becca Hyvonen
Director of Community Engagement, Courtney Huffman
Concert Manager, Ximena Wheeler

Board of Directors

President, Jennifer Moore
Vice President, John Bartley
Treasurer, Desiree Deliz-Morales
Secretary, Melissa Menter

Members at Large: Mark Aquilina, Judy Bloomberg Schenkein, Leslie Britton, Josh Corwyn, Scott Horowitz

Staff & Board
Scroll to Top